Three Years

Dear Jordan,

Purple for our wedding colors, lilies for my bouquet.

Purple for our wedding colors, lilies for my bouquet.

When first you came into my life, I wasn’t sure what to think of you. You seemed so square, so immovable. I wanted to be vibrant and free. As I got to know you better, your thoughtfulness, intelligence, and insight drew me in. I met your parents and began to suspect I wanted to be part of your family. I spent even more time with you and uncovered your sometimes dry and sometimes goofy sense of humor that meshed so well with my own. I grew to appreciate your quiet strength that supported me when my exuberance sometimes gave way to melancholy. My heart began to grow with yours.

Three years ago today I married you. We promised each other the best of our lives, the rest of our lives’ remaining years. And we continue to grow together. Sometimes through pain, sometimes through joy, but always through love. The man I once could not imagine being with became the man I can’t imagine being without.

I love you, always.

5 thoughts on “Three Years

Leave a Reply

